South Fulton Educators Named ‘Principals of the Year’

Fulton County Schools’ top employees will be honored Friday, November 1, at the district’s 2019 Legacy of Excellence Awards at the Georgia World Congress Center. Among those to be recognized are four “Principals of the Year.” They are: LaToya Miley, A. Philip Randolph Elementary; Charles Chester, Northwestern Middle; Martin Neuhaus, Barnwell Elementary; and Scott Hanson, North Springs Charter High.

Miley currently serves as principal of Sandtown Middle and Chester is now principal at Langston Hughes High.

Miley has been an educator for 20 years and has served Fulton County Schools for 14 years as a teacher, lead data support specialist, assistant principal and executive manager for the superintendent prior to her role as principal at A. Philip Randolph Elementary. Her vision is to ensure all students and teachers are provided a conducive learning environment, which ultimately leads to success. “I take great pride in serving as the number one advocate for all students,” she said.

Chester became principal at Northwestern in 2015 and held the position for four years. He previously served as a math teacher at Woodland Middle and an assistant principal at Alpharetta High School. He envisions redefining success by growth and providing all students with opportunities to experience growth. “This opens a pathway for all students to feel valued and to experience success,” he said.

Approximately 1,000 employees, business partners and special guests will gather at tomorrow’s recognition luncheon to pay tribute to the principals, as well as each school’s and administrative building’s employees of the year.

The Legacy of Excellence also honors the partnerships that have contributed to student achievement and helped to fund the awards luncheon. Among this year’s Blue Ribbon Partners are the South Fulton City Council, 100 Black Men of South Metro, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Subway, World Changers Church International and the Future Foundation.

The Legacy of Excellence will be streamed live on the Fulton County Schools website. The two-hour program begins at 11:30 a.m. Entertainment will be provided by the Wolf Creek Elementary Chorus and Creekside High School Jazz Band. A full list of honorees is available here.

Pin It on Pinterest