Committee Meets to Name New South Fulton STEM School

Fulton County Schools recently broke ground on a new South Fulton STEM School set to open August 2021. Now a committee is deliberating on the school’s official name.

Members of the South Fulton STEM School naming committee meeting include school governance council chairs and elected officials. The members of the committee are: Stephen Gregory, Camp Creek MS; Johnathan Hall, Creekside HS; Loretta Pennington, McNair MS; Elva Ratchford, Woodland MS; Willie Davis, Westlake HS; Beatrice McArthur, Bear Creek MS; Melody Huff, Renaissance MS; David Hartwell, Sandtown MS; Calvin Lindsay, Sandtown MS; Former Fairburn City Councilmember Lydia Glaize; District 6 Fulton County Commissioner Joe Carn; and State Representative Roger Bruce, D-61.

According to Davis, five names are already gaining traction. Two of the names are inspired by the three African-American “Hidden Figures” at NASA behind the historic launch of John Glenn into orbit.

The names being considered thus far are: Jackson-Vaughan-Johnson STEM Academy; Katherine G. Johnson STEM Academy; Global STEM Academy; International STEM Academy; and Impact STEM Academy. Based on the FCS timeline, the name is expected to be announced in December or January.

The South Fulton STEM School will be located in the city of Fairburn, adjacent to Campbell Elementary. The school is designed to accommodate approximately 900 students in grades 6-12. The application window will open starting in October 2020 and acceptance letters will be disseminated in February 2021.

Students will study high-tech, high-demand, college-and-career focused subjects, and courses will incorporate design thinking with an integrated curriculum. Veteran Fulton County Schools educator Dr. Anthony Newbold will serve as the school’s principal.

A North Fulton STEM School is also planned. It has been named The Innovation Academy.

Of the names being considered for the South Fulton STEM school, which is your favorite? Let us know on our Facebook page.

Photo: Members of the South Fulton STEM School naming committee meet along with Dr. Newbold, South Learning Community Area Superintendent Gyimah Whitaker and Area Executive Director Ron Maxwell. (Credit: Fulton County Schools)

Pin It on Pinterest